Kendall Qualls

Kendall Qualls

Over the course of my life, I’ve been called many things–ghetto kid, trailer trash, veteran, businessman, husband, father–but I never dreamed I’d be called candidate for U.S. Congress.

As your candidate, I believe it’s important that you know how my personal and professional life have shaped who I am today.

I didn’t have a life of privilege. I grew up in poverty, and success came the old fashioned way: I earned it.

Early Childhood

I was five years old when my father returned from Vietnam and divorced my mother.  After the divorce, my mother moved my four siblings and me—ranging in age from three to 16–to Harlem, NY, to live with my grandparents. Harlem was the epicenter of crime, drugs and gang warfare in the late 60’s and early 70’s.

My mother, who was in one of the most dangerous cities in the country, felt abandoned and alone.  The strain of raising five children in the crime-ridden ghetto resulted in her frequent illnesses and hospitalizations. Eventually my younger brother and I went to live with our father in Oklahoma. He was a Drill Sergeant in the U.S. Army, who paid child support and alimony, and could only afford a small trailer on the poor side of town. So at a young age, I’d lived in the epicenter of crime and drugs in Harlem, NY, and in a trailer park in rural Oklahoma.

I’ll never forget the despair and uncertainty of my early childhood.

College

I’m the first and only person in my family to graduate college.  I went to a small state school in Oklahoma and paid for it by working full-time delivering pizzas in addition to joining the U.S. Army Reserves.  My leadership training began at a young age. I commissioned as a Second Lieutenant in the Army at 19-years old. Even though I worked full-time and served in the Army Reserves, I still graduated in four years.

Active Duty

After college, I went on active duty as an officer in the Field Artillery.  While on active duty, I held a Top-Secret security clearance with Special Background Investigation because I was responsible for tactical nuclear weapons. I also served a tour in South Korea.  As a result of a knee injury, I decided not to continue my career in the Army and left with an honorable discharge.

Married Life

Marriage hasn’t always been easy, but it’s always been worth it. Sheila and I met in high school, and I’ve been committed to her ever since. We attended college together and got married in 1986 after Sheila graduated. Like any marriage, we’ve worked through challenges and differences and are now heading toward 34-years of matrimony. We have five children and a Labrador Retriever named Largo.

Sheila’s a trooper. As a result of job promotions and corporate consolidations, we’ve lived in eight states.

She’s now a Life Coach who blogs and speaks as well as runs a Facebook page and private group, which serves over 10,000 women.

Corporate Career

For 27 years, I led sales and marketing teams in the healthcare industry with Fortune 100 companies such as Johnson & Johnson, Roche Labs and Medtronic.

For the past 15 years, I’ve worked to transform stagnant or declining business units in the pharmaceutical and medical technology industries by introducing transformative strategies.

I now work for a small health-care startup that helps cancer patients tackle their disease.

Christian Faith

I became a Christian in my late 20s. My faith has guided the important decisions in my life.  I’m not perfect by any means, but my faith has been my “true north.” It’s one of the main reasons I’m so committed to my family. All my siblings have suffered the collateral damage of my parents’ divorce and have divorced themselves.  Additionally, my faith is the driver in my desire to serve in organizations–such as Big Brother / Big Sisters, Colorado UpLift, an organization that serves underprivileged kids in Denver, and Minnesota Teen Challenge—that support broken families.